2014 Election Information
Click here for more details.

Click here for more details.

Bridge Weight Limits                                 SDDOT Truck Weights
Click here for more details.                              Click here for more details.

Popular Quickfinds

Kids on slide at a park

Minnehaha County, created in 1862, is a political subdivision of the State of South Dakota encompassing 810 square miles. Minnehaha County is the largest county in the state in terms of population. The 2010 Census recorded a population of 169,468. The 2014 estimated population is 176,392. Minnehaha County is governed by ten elected officials - 5 part-time Commissioners, an Auditor, a Treasurer, a State's Attorney, Register of Deeds and Sheriff. Daily operations are managed by 19 full-time Department Heads.

The County, employing 524 full-time employees, provides such services as: law enforcement, jail administration, highway construction/maintenance, property valuation, planning/zoning, emergency management, poor relief, juvenile detention services, election administration, official recording of deeds and documents, vehicle tax and licensing and property tax collection and administration.

The County also maintains two rural parks. In conjunction with the City of Sioux Falls, the County maintains the Siouxland Library system, the Siouxland Heritage Museum system and dispatches police, fire and medical personnel through the Metro Communications 911 Center.

Campus Map
Falls Park Statue

Last updated on April 16, 2014


Terms and Conditions | Accessibility Accessibility | Please direct any comments or suggestions to the Webmaster


Copyright © 2014 Minnehaha County. All rights reserved.